Hannibal: I thought you said your goodbyes.

Will: We’ve one last goodbye between us.

Saturday was the grand finale of Hannibal on NBC. And grand it was.

I decided to say goodbye to the show in my own way – with a “last supper.” I wanted to pay tribute to all three of the show’s seasons, and to the impact that it has had.

IMG_5737

My Hannibal dinner (certified people-free!) included:

Mushrooms stuffed with homemade tomato sauce, spinach, and goat cheese (or mozzarella for my non-goat-cheese-liking friend)

IMG_5838 IMG_5839 IMG_5704

…in honor of one of (one of!) my favorite stomach-turning tableaux in season 1.

1×02 – Amuse-Bouche

Angel hair with white truffle oil

IMG_5706

A reference to the Angel-Maker…

1×05 – Coquilles

…and to Hannibal & Bedelia’s time in Italy, and the way in which two clever women caught the devil at his own game — one set the clues, and the other followed them.

3×01 – Antipasto

3×05 – Contorno

(rest assured, if I had a few hundred dollars to drop, there would have also been Bâtard-Montrachet)

Beet and blood orange carpaccio, with walnuts and spiced red wine vinegar reduction

IMG_5700

Artfully arranged by my friend Lily, a fellow fannibal and a fantastic artist!

IMG_5743

Those walnuts look kind of like brains, don’t they?

3×06 – Dolce

And just as messy!

IMG_5759

And, of course, it had to be paired with a nice chianti.

IMG_5683

Finally, after the quiet devastation of the episode, I had to end with something gentle and sweet. Enter:

Honey cake with an edible flower crown

IMG_5837

IMG_5806

IMG_5852

With a nod to the honey bee lady…

2×04 – Takiawase

…one of our favorite sassy scientists…

…and to the dear, dear fannibals, who find joy, sweetness, laughter, and beauty in the darkest of shows.

To the showrunner Bryan Fuller, to all the writers, the cast and crew, to musician Brian Reitzell, to food stylist Janice Poon who has inspired me so much, and to everyone else who made this show possible: I hope that we haven’t seen the last of you, but even if we have, thank you for these three seasons of absolute beauty.

